• HOME
  • Past
  • Light That Was Forgotten, Back to the Night: Ai-hua Hsia Solo Exhibition

Light That Was Forgotten, Back to the Night: Ai-hua Hsia Solo Exhibition

2021/8/7 ~ 2021/9/18
2021/08/07 15:00
  • Artist’s Word

These were glimpses of my residence in Romania in summer 2019. Though they were merely daily incidents back then, they have become untouchable strings of light that glimmer at night after a year has passed.

 

I was ready for my residency in Europe, as usual. During the long ride after being picked up from the airport, the curator told me, a renowned giant local tree was struck by sudden lightning and fell while they were preparing my wood material. Thus the crude wood which no one could have ever carved on became my medium for creation, and I was no longer bewildered by such unbelievable things happening to me. The curator was seriously describing the size of that tree; I was picturing the Yggdrasill in anime and hence, the image of my own Yggdrasill appeared in my mind.

 

It was a 5-6 hours ride from the airport to the place where I was going to reside. Though in summer, it was only 12 degrees Celsius; a rainstorm caught us when we crossed the mountain peak. The lumpy muddy road made this ride seem even longer. I wondered if we’ve arrived at another world, for in this town, there are bird nests about 2m diameter on every rooftop and every utility pole in which inhabited fairly large birds. Being excited, I left the car, attempting to take their pictures. Presently a huge bird flew down toward me and landed at the height between my chest and waist. I nervously thought it was better not to approach. The curator thrillingly introduced this kind of white crane from Africa—every summer they travel here to escape the heat. The locals adore them so much that they set cameras in their nests while the birds were absent, broadcasted by a specified television channel, the rating surpassed all the other channels. This made me sympathetic toward these bird idols.

 

As I pondered these bird’s right of privacy, our car suddenly stopped, for we were already surrounded by a herd of buffaloes. Or, should I say, we had bumped into their route to their home. Each buffalo was huge and much more taller than our car. One of them ran towards us and almost scared me to death the moment I rolled my window down to get a better look, almost scared me to death. From the curator we learned that every household in this town has several buffaloes and they become this huge herd—more than a hundred buffaloes. They grazed together, but they would all return to each of their homes when the evening came, requiring no one to be in charge or lead their way. This first appeared like a mere fairy tale to me. Hence it was all because our car had been in their way, which irritated them and therefore they ran toward us. Everything was explained with reason.

 

The place where artists resided was a local ancient art museum, the artists all stayed in a great mansion and created works together; my work was of great size because my crude wood was truly huge. The curator told me how local bears from the mountains robbed residents’ orchards for food—though such things happen everywhere around the world, but these bears seem to be very significant beings to the locals and this had led to quarrels between people with different opinions on two extremes. My Giant tree must also be very significant, I thought, and thus, with the piece of wood, I  made a sculpture of a bear riding the clouds, as if it were informing people about serious problems happening in the mountains. This piece is The Parable of Bear.

 

At the end of this residency the famous dog in town came to our mansion. It was a very unique dog, mysterious yet very clean, and always looks at each of us with a sincere stare. We always kept the heat on for it was still low temperature, and therefore everyone’s room door was shut tightly. As I came out of the bathroom after a show, I encountered this dog laying in the middle of the room as if it had been living here for years. Since I’m allergic to dogs, we had to ask it to leave, but it did not move a single bit however we pursued it to. Eventually there was no other way but pushing it out of the door. It howled suddenly, similar to a wolf howl, at the moment it was out, and right away all the dogs in the town barked along with it. Though I had no idea what that could mean, it still left a marvelous impression.

 

After residence in Romania, we all visited Prague, Czech and Vienna, Austria. Prague is a quite ancient city with an impression of remaining in historic time, yet with numerous visitors. Instead of doves, the street performer clown shows us time-traveling moths. Standing under the bell tower, one feels as if neither time or distance have ever changed Prague, they only circle along with the spiral staircase og the bell tower. The tale of the Prague cathedral being the devil’s cathedral was repeatedly told in museums and art museums—that a severe plague came during the devil’s fall, which brought a creepy atmosphere along with Jewish tomb in the city. While in Vienna, instead of the glamours Gustav Klimt, I was most attracted by Egon Shieler’s profoundness—specifically, his works after having caught the Spanish flu lingered in my mind. And hence we came to 2019, where humans entered an endless night.

 

  Like a parallel universe, Taiwan was a place to which the world envied while the coronavirus was widespread around the world. I was invited to Amagasaki city, Hyogo, Japan in summer 2020 when the pandemic situation slightly calmed down. For the pandemic had caused depression to many, a sum of people commited suicide due to depression, and the number of death by suicide already surpassed the number by the pandemic—it was their wish to invite artworks from Taiwan which, the pandemic had been properly controled, and thus empowers local citizens to fight on with this pandemic situation. Hence I brought my Warrior series from Until the Rain Stops and a new piece, Floating City, which was created according to the theme of Amagasaki city. But the epidemic started heating up during my exhibition. Over 100 visitors came to the opening and everyone was eager to hear encouraging and uplifting words from me in person, for it had been nearly a year without going out to meet with friends, hanging out or having a cheerful chat—and the epidemic seemed to have no end. This was my first time feeling able to comfort and uplift others as an artist, via my works. Although I felt the tension of going into an infected area  at such a severe period, traveling also required a quarantine, countless time and effort, but ultimately over 400 people visited the exhibition and many left us letters with thankful messages, which demonstrates how the exhibition empowered them to keep on. This made me immensely proud of being an artist.

 

The pandemic still has not decreased this year and the entire world is still in darkness of fear. I have portrayed these daily life glimmers from the past as I represent them via my works, with a wish to light up the depressed, fearful corner in everyone’s heart.

• 首頁
  • 展覽回顧
  • 【忘了的光亮、回到了夜】夏愛華個展

【忘了的光亮、回到了夜】夏愛華個展

2021/8/7 ~ 2021/9/18
2021/08/07 15:00
  • 創作自述

文/夏愛華

 

    2019年的夏天在羅馬尼亞駐村時的點點滴滴,曾幾何時的日常,卻成為遙不可及的光亮,在超過一年的夜裡綻放。

    一如往常在歐洲駐村,策展人在接機的漫漫旅途中告訴我在準備我的原木時,當地著名的神木忽然間被雷打中然後就倒了下來,於是一直沒有人可以雕刻的原木就這麼順理成章的成為了我的材料。我對於這些不可思議的事情發生在我身上都已經見怪不怪了,策展人非常認真的形容神木的大小,像是山神似的樹,我想著在動漫裡會出現的世界樹,於是心裡面有了屬於我自己的世界樹的畫面。

    從機場到駐村的場地需要5~6個小時的車程,明明是夏天卻只有12度,當我們越過一個山脈的時候忽然下起了暴風雨,滿地都是坑洞的泥巴路讓路途顯得更為遙遠,正當我覺得我們來到了異世界的同時,眼前的小鎮所有的屋頂以及電線竿的頂端都有著差不多直徑兩米左右的鳥巢,裡面有著相當巨大的鳥兒們,我非常興奮的下車想拍照,這時一隻大鳥飛下來朝我走來,站著的高度約在我的腰與胸之間,讓我有點緊張的覺得還是不要靠近的好,策展人非常興奮地介紹著這種來自非洲的白鸛,每年夏天會到這裡避暑,當地人因為太喜歡他們所以趁鳥兒不在的時候在巢裡放攝影機,而且還有專屬的電視頻道轉播,收視率還遠遠超過所有電台,讓我對於鳥兒偶像有點憐惜的情感。

    正在想著鳥兒的隱私權的時候,車子忽然停了下來,我們正被一大群的牛包圍著。應該是說我們亂入了牛群的回家之路。只是一隻隻的牛好大,個子比車子高很多,我才搖下車窗想看清楚點,牛就衝過來把頭伸進車窗裡差點把我嚇死。聽策展人說牛群是鎮上每家人養的幾隻匯集成一大群牛,有上百隻大家一起去草原吃草,到了傍晚牛隻會自己各自回到自己的家,不用人去牽去管,對我來說像是天方夜譚似的,剛剛因為我們妨礙到牛回家的路所以他們不高興才衝過來的。所有的事情都有他的道理在其中。

    藝術家進駐的地方是當地的一間相當古老的美術館,藝術家們住在一個大宅院一起創作著,因為我的神木實在太大所以我的作品也就得做得很大,策展人告訴我當地有著熊下山來民家的果園搶食事件,雖然在世界各地都發生著,但是熊對於當地人似乎是非常特別的存在,引發當地人非常兩極的紛爭,我想神木也是當地的非常特別的存在,所以我以神木將熊做成乘坐在雲上的雕刻,像是來告知人們山上發生了相當嚴重的問題。作品為『熊的寓言』。

    在駐村接近尾聲,有天鎮上有名的狗來到我們的駐村地,那是一隻非常奇特的狗,神出鬼沒卻非常乾淨而且總是認真注視我們每一個人。因為當地依舊很冷的關係我們一直開著暖氣,所以大家的房門都是緊閉著的,卻在我洗好澡從浴室出來的時候看見這隻狗像是住在我們房間許多年似的趴在正中央,因為我會過敏所以只好請他出去,但是無論我們怎麼好言相勸他都無動於衷,最後沒辦法只好推他出門,他一出門的那一瞬間忽然像是狼嚎似的吠了一聲,然後鎮上像是所有的狗都跟著他像是狼嚎似的一起吠了許久,雖然不知道是什麼意思但是有著不可思議的感覺。

    駐村結束之後我們去了捷克的布拉格,以及奧地利的維也納,布拉格是個相當古老的城市,像是整個城市停留在遠古但是卻充滿著觀光客。街道上的小丑放出來的不是鴿子而是穿越時空的蛾,在鐘樓下似乎感覺到時間與時空對於布拉格沒有作用只是一直隨著鐘樓裡的迴旋梯旋轉著。美術館與博物館裡都不斷重複著布拉格的教堂是魔鬼教堂的傳說,很久以前當魔鬼降臨時帶來一場大瘟疫,與當時埋葬在市內的猶太人墳墓帶來詭異的氛圍。在維也納比起華麗的克林姆更吸引我的是深刻的席勒,尤其是在染上西班牙流感之後的畫作在腦海裡一直揮之不去。就這樣來到了2019年,人們進入了漫漫長夜。

    當新冠肺炎蔓延全世界,台灣像是平行宇宙似的成了世界欣羨的地方。在2020年疫情稍稍和緩的夏天,我受到日本兵庫縣尼崎市的邀請,因為當地的疫情讓民眾陷入憂鬱,許多人因為憂鬱而自殺,自殺的人數早已超過因疫情死亡的人數,所以希望能邀請來自疫情控制得當的台灣,而且能給予居民繼續與疫情奮戰的作品,於是我帶著我的『直到雨停』的戰士系列,以及以尼崎市為主題製作了一件新的作品『漂浮城市』,只是當我的展覽開始的時期疫情卻升溫,開展當天來了上百名的參觀者,大家都是希望能聽到我在現場能給予他們鼓勵以及能振奮人心的話語,因為大家已經接近一年沒有出門與朋友見面,沒有聚會沒有歡樂的對話,而且疫情讓他們看不到盡頭,這是我身為藝術家第一次覺得能夠以作品慰藉以及振奮人心,即使在疫情嚴峻的時期深入疫區是緊張的,來回也必須隔離並且花費許多時間以及精力,但是最後展場來了400多人,大家留下許多感謝的信件,也說明這個展覽給予他們多大的力量,讓我深深為自己身為一位藝術家而感到驕傲。

    今年,疫情依然沒有緩減,全世界仍然籠罩在夜,我將生活中曾有的光亮,幻化成作品,希望能照亮每個人心中憂鬱恐懼的角落。